2009 ACM Awards: The Show, The Winners

Monday, April 6, 2009

The MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas was the place to be on Sunday night (April 5) for all things country, as the 44th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards arrived.

Hosted by Reba McEntire, the big shindig kicked off with an ensemble performance by Brooks & Dunn, featuring Taylor Swift, Sugarland, Carrie Underwood and Rascal Flatts. McEntire exclaimed, "What an opening! Now that's what I call a stimulus package!"

And speaking of Rascal Flatts, they ended up garnering the Top Vocal Group award, beating out Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, Randy Rogers Band, and Lost Trailers. Meanwhile, Jamey Johnson took home the trophy for Song of the Year (his first ACM as a solo artist) for “In Color,” while Brad Paisley earning Top Male Vocalist honors.

Also during the ceremony, Taylor Swift was presented with a special ACM Crystal Milestone Award for helping to draw a youthful audience to the world of country music.

"Are you serious?" Swift exclaimed, giving Reba a big hug. "To you guys who come to my show. I have absolutely fallen in love with you and will never forget you, ever."

With Miley Cyrus stirring up the crowd with her performance of "The Climb," the event came to a close with Carrie Underwood being named this year's Entertainer of the Year - an award voted on by fans around the world.